Review: Basil Thai

Thus begins an explanation of my love of Thai food.

I lived in Chicago for ten years, and had ample opportunity to develop my relationship with a lot of international cooking.  I grew ever more adventurous in my eating endeavors as I explored the city, including the huge selection of Indian food on Devon, the delicious Lebanese food right down the block from my apartment, and too many taco joints to name…  But my go-to choice was always Thai.

Before I get too carried away with my reminiscence, let me say that I didn’t know how lucky I was until I really started to crave the sweet spice that is unique to Thai food.  No generic cheap Asian food takeout that offers Kung Pao and sushi on the same “authentic” menu is going to be able to curb my Pad Thai craving.  So when I went in search of even passable Thai food in Columbus, I was on a mission!

Mission: Accomplished

Thank goodness for Basil Thai!  We have visited Basil on 3 occasions now, and have not been disappointed!  On the first visit, we ordered the Rama Chicken and the Pad Se Ewe.  Our waitress was hesitant on the rama, and warned several times that it was JUST steamed chicken and broccoli with peanut sauce on the side.  Oh little did she know that this is exactly what I wanted.  In fact, JUST peanut sauce would have been fine with me.  I get the sense that the staff have encountered a few guests unfamiliar with Thai food and want to make sure everyone is ok with what they’re getting.  Totally fine by me, because I know I’m getting great food!

The meal shown in the photo above was from our most recent visit.  Not pictured are the delicious Fresh Rolls.  Finding an unfried spring roll or vegetable roll in Columbus has proven exceedingly difficult.  These are always executed well, icy cold with loads of fresh mint, lettuce and sprouts.  A light and refreshing start to the meal.  Off the Specials menu, we ordered the Mee Krob.  This is a crispy, airy fried noodle tossed in a sweet-sour sauce.  Crunchy and with a unique flavor, but it definitely needs to be paired with more substantial menu choices to make a meal.  The final dish in our meal was the Green Curry with beef.  This curry was a little thicker than most I’ve had, but it added to the rich flavor of the dish.  To top off the meal, a bottle of warm sake went perfectly.

Each time we’ve been to Basil Thai, there has been little to no wait for a table, and the staff has been exceptionally friendly and attentive.  On the last visit, there was a bit of a delay with our dishes being delivered to the table.  Sake and fresh rolls came out soon after we ordered them, but the time between the Mee Krob and the curry was lengthy.  It was not much of an issue, but because we were sharing the dishes and mee krob is best eaten as soon as it is brought to the table, it was noticeable.  Another thing that warrants mentioning is the heat level.  I LOVE my food spicy, and I can’t seem to get it spicy enough here.  If you want your noodles to make you sweat like I do, don’t worry – there is plenty of chili flakes, pickled jalapeno and chili paste at the table because the kitchen doesn’t amp it up as much as you might hope!

Casual, delicious Thai in a comfy environment with friendly staff (and a full bar!).  Short North charm without the Short North price tag.  You will not regret a visit.

(But let’s be honest, Cozy Noodles and Rice in Wrigleyville will always have a little piece of my Thai food loving heart!)

Author: pint0joe

Bibliophilic webrarian. Avid novice runner. Weight Watcher.

Leave a comment